Lada USA Discussion Board Forum Index Lada USA Discussion Board
International Lada Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
LadaUSA Store

1986 Lada 21063 - From Vladimir to Indiana
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topicReply to topic Lada USA Discussion Board Forum Index -> Your rides
View previous topic :: View next topic
gblackwo

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:09 pm Post subject: 1986 Lada 21063 - From Vladimir to Indiana Reply with quote

Where to begin.. I am a mechanical engineer and studied Russian at Purdue University with my soon to be wife. We both have lived/worked in Siberia which is probably what started my Lada fetish. We are planning to return for Sochi, but in the mean time I have a 1986 21063 to work on. I will try to document my work here with a level of detail that is useful to anyone looking to import or work on a Lada.

I imported the car with the help of my friend Igor, who I met here on the forums about a year ago. I transferred money to Igor, and he handled the purchasing, deregistering, transit plates, transport of the car from Vladimir to St. Petersburg, and Russian customs. I paid about $2500 for the vehicle, and when all was said and done, about another $1100 for Russian customs, transport, and replacing some parts. This may seem steep for an 86', but it was purchased from friends of friends, and the car has no major rust- has been garaged most of it's life, and is running soundly. I'm okay with this price tag.

For these steps, I wrote a bi-lingual sales contract, (here is a template based off mine). I also needed to translate the registration for my side of customs.